How Much Does It Cost To Reinstate Your License In CA?
It may come to you as a surprise that an estimated 10% of people driving around do not actually have valid driver’s licenses, and are driving illegally. These 10% of drivers includes, of course, people who have had their licenses suspended due to one reason or the other.
California reports also show that in the State of California, between 2006 and 2013, the DMV recorded 4.2 million license suspensions for unpaid court fines alone; this high number is even without adding the drivers who get their licenses revoked/suspended for a myriad of other reasons.
People who drive on suspended licenses actually fail to remember that they are- in that moment- not eligible drivers for the road, and are putting themselves and other road users at high risk because, the law has found them guilty of being an unsafe driver.
Reasons for a Driver’s License Suspension in California
The DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) in the State of California can punish a driver with a license suspension for a number of driving violations. The most common reasons drivers get a driver’s license suspension in California are,
- Failure to pay court fines
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Failure to appear in court
- Failure to meet up with child support obligations
- Repeating the same traffic violations
- Vehicular accident convictions (Hit and run charges)
- Lack of an auto insurance
- Evading the police
Some of the more serious offenses will lead to an immediate suspension, some of those offenses can be found in the California DMV Driver Handbook, here.
A Suspended License
A court or the DMV will review a person’s case, and once they find the driver at fault, he/she will have their license suspended. Driving privileges allocated to that driver with their license will also be withdrawn for the specified period of suspension. Breaking the suspension in any way – driving another vehicle during the period of suspension- will lead to even more serious charges pressed against you, and possibly an extended period of suspension.
Reinstating your California License
Although the road to getting your driver’s license reinstated is not filled with roses, it is actually an accomplishable task, and what most drivers will need during this quest is patience and some more patience in reserve. The ways drivers can reinstate their license is varying, mostly depending on the reasons that the license got suspended in the first place. If your ever get your license suspended, a driver license lawyer can help you get the driving right back.
Some of the regular steps involved in reinstatement include;
- Visiting your local DMV with all necessary documents
- Completing and adhering to all suspensions, mandated programs or any jail time
- Proof of insurance
- Paying the specified reinstatement fee
- Paying all applicable court fees
How much does it Cost to reinstate your License in California
The amount of the fees varies according to the violation that surrounds a license suspension. The exact amount a driver will need to pay mostly depends on the Department of Motor Vehicles and the reason for a driver’s license suspension. The charges you need to pay for reinstating your licence after getting a Los Angeles traffic ticket are given below:
- $20 for a Driver License restriction
- $55 for a reissue fee
- $100 Preliminary Alcohol Screening
- $100 Admin Per Se
- $24 drug suspension
It is important to remember that being able to operate a vehicle in California does not guarantee that you are deemed fit to drive on the roads of California. To keep your license, you must pay heed to all of the driving rules set by the state to ensure your safety, and the safety of other road users.